HomeAboutMastheadJoin POW ListserveDonateArchive


Founder & Editor


Andrew McFadyen-Ketchum is an award-winning freelance authoreditor and ghostwriter, and professor of writing at the University of Colorado. He is Acquisitions Editor for Upper Rubber Boot Books, Founder and Editor of PoemoftheWeek.org and the Floodgate Poetry Series, Founder of the Little Grassy Literary Festival, Contributing-Editor for The Southern Indiana Reviewand editor of two literary anthologies: Apocalypse Now: Poems & Prose from the End of Days and The Plume Anthology of Long-ish Poems (forthcoming 2018).

His first book of poems, Ghost Gear (University of Arkansas Press, 2014), was a finalist for the Miller Williams Prize, the Colorado Book Award, and the INDIEFAB. His second manuscript of poems, Visiting Hours, was a finalist for the National Poetry Series, the Georgia Poetry Prize, the Jake Adam York Prize, the Miller Williams Prize, and the Akron Poetry Series in 2016 and 2017. 

His poemsreviewsinterviewspodcasts, and articles have been published in The Writer’s Chronicle, Poets & Writers, The Southern Poetry Anthology, Glimmer Train, American Literary Review, The Spoon River Poetry Review, The Missouri Review, storySouth, Blackbird, InsideHigherEd.com, and Hayden’s Ferry Review, among others. Andrew holds a Masters of Fine Arts Degree from Southern Illinois University – Carbondale.

Guest Editors

webassets/Tyreedaye.jpgTyree Daye is a poet from Youngsville, North Carolina. He is the winner of the 2017 APR/Honickman First Book Prize for his book River Hymns (APR, 2017). Daye is a 2017 Ruth Lilly Finalist and Cave Canem fellow and longtime member of the editorial staff at Raleigh Review. He received his MFA in poetry from North Carolina State University. Daye’s work has been published in Prairie Schooner, New York Times, Nashville Review. Daye recently won the Amy Clampitt Residency for 2018 and The Glenna Luschei Prairie Schooner Award for his poems in the Fall 2015 issue. He is an Assistant Professor of English at St.Augustine's University in Raleigh, North Carolina.




Poet and essayist Ocean Vuong is the author of Night Sky with Exit Wounds, which was a New York Times Top 10 Book of 2016, winner of the Whiting Award, the Thom Gunn Award, and the Forward Prize for Best First Collection, and finalist for the T.S. Eliot Prize, the Kate Tufts Discovery Award and the Lambda Literary Award. A Ruth Lilly fellow from the Poetry Foundation, Vuong has received honors from the Lannan Foundation, the Civitella Ranieri Foundation, The Elizabeth George Foundation, The Academy of American Poets, and the Pushcart Prize. His writings have been featured in The Atlantic, The Nation, New Republic, The New Yorker, The New York Times, The Village Voice, and American Poetry Review, which awarded him the Stanley Kunitz Prize for Younger Poets. Born in Saigon, Vietnam, he immigrated to the US at the age of two as a child refugee. He lives Western Massachusetts and teaches at UMass Amherst’s MFA for Poets & Writers program.

Vuong’s writings have been featured in The AtlanticThe NationNew RepublicThe New YorkerThe New York TimesThe Village Voice, and American Poetry Review, which awarded him the Stanley Kunitz Prize for Younger Poets. Selected by Foreign Policy magazine as a 2016 100 Leading Global Thinker, alongside Hillary Clinton, Ban Ki-Moon and Warsan Shire, Ocean was also named by BuzzFeed Books as one of “32 Essential Asian American Writers” and has been profiled on NPR’s “All Things Considered,” PBS NewsHour, Teen VogueVICEThe Fantastic Man, and The New YorkerBorn in Saigon, Vietnam, he immigrated to the US at the age of two as a child refugee. 


Poet, critic, and editor T.R. Hummer was born in 1950 in Macon, Mississippi. He holds degrees from the University of Southern Mississippi and the University of Utah, where he earned a PhD. Though his early work is reminiscent of Southern writers such as James Dickey, Hummer’s poetry considers a range of experiences and ideas. His interest in class, sexuality, music, and metaphysics shape collections such as Lower-Class Heresy (1987), The Eighteen-Thousand-Ton Olympic Dream (1990), Walt Whitman in Hell (1996), The Infinity Sessions (2005), and Ephemeron (2011). FALL 2017 







Judy Jordan’s first book of poetry, Carolina Ghost Woods, won the 1999 Walt Whitman Award from the Academy of American Poets, the 2000 National Book Critics Circle Award, as well as the Utah Book of the Year Award, the OAY Award from the Poetry Council of North Carolina, and the Thomas Wolfe Literary Award. Her second book of poetry, Sixty Cent Coffee and a Quarter to Dance, was published by LSU press. Jordan’s third book, Hunger, was just released with 2017.  Jordan just completed a fourth book of poetry, Children of Salt and is currently working on a fifth and sixth manuscript.  Jordan built her own environmentally friendly earthbag and cob house, lives off-grid surrounded by the Shawnee National Forest, and teaches creative writing at Southern Illinois University, Carbondale. SPRING 2017

webassets/williams-web.jpgPhillip B. Williams was born in Chicago, Illinois. He is the author of the chapbooks Bruised Gospels (Arts in Bloom Inc., 2011), Burn (YesYes Books, 2013), and a forthcoming collection, Thief in the Interior (Alice James Books, 2016). Williams is a Cave Canem graduate and the poetry editor of the online journal Vinyl Poetry. His poetry has appeared or is forthcoming in Callaloo, Kenyon Review Online, The Southern Review, Painted Bride Quarterly, West Branch, Blackbird and others. Williams is currently a Chancellor’s Graduate fellow at Washington University in St. Louis, where he is completing an MFA in creative writing. FALL 2016











Mark Jay Brewin Jr. is a graduate of the MFA program of Southern Illinois University-Carbondale.  His poems have been published or are forthcoming in numerous journals, including Southern Poetry Review, Iron Horse Literary Review, The Hollins Critic, Beloit Poetry Journal, Copper Nickel, New Madrid, Poet Lore, North American Review, Greensboro Review, Southern Humanities Review, Prairie Schooner and elsewhere.  They have also placed as finalist in the Guy Owen Poetry Prize, the 2011 Third Coast Poetry Prize and the New Letters Literary Award Contest, won the Yellowwood Poetry Contest at the Yalobusha Review, as well as been nominated for a Pushcart Prize. His first book manuscript Scrap Iron won the 2012 Agha Shahid Ali Poetry Prize at the University of Utah Press and will be available in the 2013 Spring catalog. Mark is currently the Poetry Editor for the online publication Saxifrage PressSPRING 2016



Matthew Huff is a first-grade teacher at a school named after a Mexican anarchist. Matthew studied Creative Writing at the University of Colorado Denver where he was an associate editor for the journal Copper Nickel; Matthew also holds a degree in Elementary Education from Colorado Christian University. His work has recently appeared or is forthcoming in Chicago Quarterly Review, Pilgrimage, burntdistrict, Meat for Tea: The Valley Review, Jelly Bucket, The Allegheny Review, and Word Riot. Matthew lives near Denver with his wife, two dogs, and a kitty he is allergic to.


Amie Whittemore is the author of the poetry collection Glass Harvest (Autumn House Press) and co-founder of the Charlottesville Reading Series in Virginia. Her poems have won multiple awards, including a Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Prize, and have appeared in The Gettysburg Review, Sycamore Review, Smartish Pace, Cimarron Review, and elsewhere. She teaches English at Middle Tennessee State University.